Terry Tao

IMOF Patron Terence Tao was one of the recipients of the newly inaugurated ‘Breakthrough Prize’, funded by Facebook co-founder Mark Zuckerberg and Russian venture capitalist Yuri Milner. This year, there were five initial recipients, and these five will select next year’s laureate.

Other inaugural recipients are Simon Donaldson, of Stony Brook University in New York and Imperial College London; Maxim Kontsevich of the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques in France; Jacob Lurie of Harvard University; and Richard Taylor of the Institute for Advanced Study in New Jersey. Like Terence, Jacob Lurie was also a former IMO Gold medalist.